Categories
Diary Surgery

Wednesday 27th June to Tuesday 17th July 2018

So, the first 4 weeks of the Lenalidomide/Ixazomib/Dexamethasone treatment are nearly over. It’s not been too bad. The steroids interfere with my sleep (hence I’m writing this at 5 a.m.) and the Ixazomib makes me feel a bit woozy (slightly nauseous, tired, a bit dizzy) on Thursday evenings. This is not great as it allows Mike to beat me at golf even more easily, but on the whole, it’s become a routine.

I saw Dr. Davies yesterday and we agreed to leave the treatment at the same dosage for now. I have a tiny bit of peripheral neuropathy (tingly fingers), and she wants to monitor that, but it hasn’t really interfered with life so far.

In the meantime I’ve seen an ENT surgeon who’s going to patch up my nose, by creating a thing called a “bi-lobed flap” where basically he cuts flower petals out of my skin and rotates each one so it covers the hole next to it. He offered me the option of a biopsy first, but I told him to just get on with it. We await that appointment.

The gang had a great time touring round Scotland again (12 of us), in some mostly glorious weather (it rained on Skye, of course), and much laughter and chat in the evenings.

20180705_161134

Afternoon tea on the Thursday near Hexham and the Dornoch Firth on Friday

20180706_182505

George and I have just about got our respective ceiling joists and rafters in the gap between the two bay windows sorted out and splinted with new timber, so the new soffit and cladding can go on and the whole house will look a bit more cared for. The roof is doing great, and the solar panels are back in full production. We’ve been averaging over 20kWh a day so far in July.

Today the man is coming (again) with a new windscreen for the Boxster (it failed its MOT because the chip got too big), which hopefully this time will be the right one, and with a bit of luck the garage will sign it off so I can take it to see Andy M. tomorrow for a day’s coaching (or maybe an assessment).

Leave a comment