Categories
Diary

Wednesday 5th February to Tuesday 16th March 2020

What to write?! Life during these weeks has become increasingly dominated by the Coronavirus (Covid-19) pandemic, and is only going to get more so. As of the weekend government advice is for me (and possibly Linda) to stay at home for the next 12 weeks (and no doubt this will be reviewed and possibly extended later). I can only say I’ll be doing as I’m told and I hope everyone else is heeding advice and staying safe, and I hope we all get out of this together.

There isn’t a huge amount to write about the last few weeks. The drugs have been doing their stuff (hopefully) and I’ve been living a pretty normal life. The weather is slowly turning more spring-like and I did manage to cut our grass for the first time 10 days ago. I finished the last of Monica’s chairs – a bit more of a task, this one, being rather woodworm-infested, so that all had to be treated and the holes filled. I’ve also been out on a few daytime expeditions with fellow driving enthusiasts. Sadly two weekends planned for the next few weeks are now cancelled.

Meanwhile I’ve embarked on another little project, replacing the rose arch by our greenhouse which sadly failed to survive the last storm (Jorge) and collapsed – it was only a little thin metal thing. My replacement is being built out of 2″ poles and will hopefully be a little sturdier. It’s nearly ready to assemble, and should be installed over the next couple of days. Here’s a pic or two:

I also made a couple of fresh batches of Sambal (chilli relish). This has to be done when I’m alone in the house, but will hopefully last for some considerable time:

Sambal

Later on, I need to contact the hospital to see what the advice is regarding attending appointments / bloods etc. and then I will know more about how the next few weeks will pan out.

Take care, God bless.

4 replies on “Wednesday 5th February to Tuesday 16th March 2020”

Keep safe Nick…tough times but we all need to do what we need to do for everyone’s benefit. Keep posting!
Martin – Bristol

Thanks Martin – remember you’re one of the reasons the blog exists, so thanks! Hope you and yours are well too.

Hi Nick, hope you’re managing to keep safe and well despite all that 2020 is throwing at us at the moment. All the best, Jon

Hey Jon,

Always good to hear from you. Yes fine thanks at the moment. Getting lots of jobs done although that’s probably more likely to be down to the improved weather than the enforced isolation.
Hope you and the girls are well and enjoying life too.

Nick

Leave a comment