Categories
Diary

Monday 15th to Tuesday 30th June 2020

A quick update.

Health wise

Bloods and Zolendronate on the 22nd. This was also Linda’s birthday, and we had planned to go out for a walk, but as the Zolendronate was at the antisocial time of 2 p.m. we couldn’t do that. So I went for a little walk up to the Ridgeway from the Aldbourne road between appointments instead. It was a blazing hot day and I had some great views.

Lunchtime view from the Ridgeway

Bloods again on the 29th (it’s much easier now you have to have an appointment – strangely there are only ever about 3 people there, I wonder where all the others went?).

30th I had a telephone clinic with Dr. D. and we discussed many things. I’m going back on the lower dose of Lenalidomide because the 10 mg has interfered with my platelets and neutrophils. No Dexamethasone for now (phew!) and stick with the GCSF. He’s going to ask for a spot check of my magnesium as I’ve been suffering from cramps a bit. Probably going to have 3-monthly Zolendronate sessions, although the 2 year, monthly infusion cycle is over.

Other stuff

The little Suffolk lawnmower got some new front rollers (you may have seen them in the header), made by yours truly. Being round, the ideal would have been to have turned them. I did think for a few minutes about buying a woodturning lathe, but that didn’t seem a practical proposition, so I thought I’d have a go with hand tools. Result – 3 perfect rollers (well as near perfect as doesn’t matter, anyway). I thought I’d lay out the process for the technically minded (and I know many of my readers are of that persuasion) so here goes:

Sawn blank with hole drilled and roller diameter marked out on the exit end – you don’t know exactly where the drill will exit, however careful you are, so this end is marked out after drilling. The axle is the actual axle out of the mower. You can see one of the old rollers on the bench.
Roughing out with a chisel and mallet. You can get quite close as long as you’re careful. Depending on the grain sometimes the chisel will try and dig in. If you go the opposite way it’s leaving the wood instead.
Now we’re semi-finishing with a spokeshave. You can see it’s nearly round now. The pencil witness marks help identify the highs and lows. See the next picture for how they’re created.
Marking the high points. Hold the pencil steady with the rule to help, then spin the roller with the other hand (when it’s not holding a phone) and let the pencil touch lightly. Then we work to remove the pencil marks, rinse and repeat.
Finishing with a block plane. While the spokeshave works well for roundness, it’s not so good for creating a flat surface between the ends. The plane bridges the lows and smooths out the highs. It also takes much smaller shavings than the spokeshave. The marking and removing the marks is the same.
When it’s the right size (a bit bigger than the knackered original) the end chamfers are put on with the spokeshave. Here’s old and new side by side.
And here they are, in situ. A couple of coats of oil makes them look nice as well as helping to protect them from the damp – they’ll be getting many more coats over the rest of the season.

On the 23rd, we went for the little jaunt we had to postpone from the 22nd. Being another scorching day, we chose to explore West Woods (between Lockeridge and Pewsey) thus ensuring we spent most of it in the shade. It worked, although I still suffered from some nasty episodes of cramp that evening and the next day.

Into the wild wood.

Since lockdown eased, we’ve tried to get out for a walk every day, mostly just round our canal/railway loop but occasionally a bit further afield. I’ve also liberated my rowing machine from the shed, and given it a little service. Unfortunately the little computer is bust (it got damp) but the mechanics of the machine still work. I had an experimental spin over the weekend, and will try and give it a go a few times a week. I’m not in training for anything, so there’s no pressure for it to be any more than just a bit of recreational exercise, but I’ve always liked rowing as a form of exercise – hard work without putting too much stress on the joints, if you do it right. I’ve downloaded a little app to guide me through the early stages, as opposed to just going flat out until I collapse (joke!).

As a finishing touch to our “landscaping” round the pond, I made a little palisade to hold back the bank behind. We’d thought about sleepers, but we have a supply of cypress logs and kindling at the bottom of the garden, from pruning our trees over the years, so we tried some of that instead, and it looks much more natural. A lot of work with a hatchet sharpening the ends, but it’s all good exercise.

Pond border (the slabs have had a wash since)

Finally today I managed to get an appointment to return the Skoda, so the new transport will be being collected next Wednesday, the day after. I’m looking forward to it. However nice the Karoq has been, and it hasn’t been anything but nice, somehow it never felt like me. The new ride is something I definitely chose for myself. We’ll see …

Toodle pip!

Leave a comment