Categories
Diary

Wednesday 7th June to Wednesday 2nd August 2023

A fairly quiet July, but the news on the health front is positive.

If you prefer, you can listen to this post on Spotify

Hello again. Well, another 8 weeks have passed, and my clinic appointment duly came round yesterday. Fortunately, the Doc tells me everything is still “stable”, and we are OK to continue with the current drug regime as before. This is a relief, because I’ve been somewhat concerned since the last conversation, as you can imagine. My stress levels have now dropped slightly!

Since my last post, we’ve had a fairly quiet time, in part due to the scabrous weather we’re being dealt at the moment, but a few more exciting days have helped to lift the mood.

For Father’s Day, Mike and I went off to Wales for a stab at one of the golf courses at Celtic Manor. We played (most of) the Montgomerie course, which proved to be a tough challenge, when you haven’t played much golf in the preceding 12 months. It’s very steep in places and poor Mike got very dehydrated and tired. We gave up, and walked in after the 16th hole. I won’t tell you my score …

Linda’s birthday came round and we had a good day out at Buscot Park, a local stately home. Then we came home and cooked – something – for dinner, but I’ve forgotten what. It was good, anyway.

On a whim, we decided to visit “that London” for a bit of tourist-ing. After sorting out the (expensive) mistake with the train times, we made it to the capital, and had a good but exhausting day, visiting the Tower (twice), the National Gallery, and a Fleet Street pub (one of the personal highlights!). The first time we arrived at the Tower it was full to capacity and no tickets were being sold, so we had to go away and come back later. This involved much walking, and we went to the National Gallery first, which was great – I could spend days there. Then we took a bus back to the Tower (so her ladyship could flash her bus pass) and got in this time, albeit too late to really see all the bits we wanted to. Oh well, there’s always next time! After a somewhat disappointing dinner we made our way home and got almost the last bus back. A long day.

Then at the end of June I was off to Scotland with my driving buddies for the annual Tour. 12 people, 6 cars and the fabulous (although getting scabbier) Scottish roads. Plenty of wholesome fare (perhaps too much) and a beer or several, all added up to a perfect formula for 5 days’ entertainment. I love this event!

The assembled steeds outside our favourite hotel

July has been quieter. Last weekend Mike and I ventured to the Wirral for the Open (golf) and spent a VERY wet Sunday following the action at close quarters, but by 4:15 pm we’d had enough and made our squelchy way home. So we didn’t see the denouement live, but the result was exactly as expected, anyway. We stayed in Chester, Mike’s university town, and had a good time exploring a few pubs.

Then this weekend we went for dinner with my friend Grant on Friday, prior to me spending Saturday with him touring 6 counties of our region in his rather fabulous white car, after which he nobly got in it and drove home to Scotland. I don’t know where he gets the energy from, but he’s a top chap!

Next weekend we’re off to the South Gloucestershire show, complete with cows and sheep and stuff, which should be fun, providing it doesn’t rain all day. I’ll update you next time.

And in October, we’re all going to Japan. It’s been a while since we’ve been there and we’re all looking forward to it very much.

Toodle-pip!

Leave a comment