Categories
Diary

Tuesday 10th October to Thursday 7th December 2023

Hello again. As usual this post will also be on Spotify.

Health first. I had my clinic on the 21st of November and the Doc is still very happy with me. My platelets and white cells were a bit low this time, but I was at the end of a Filgrastim cycle so he wasn’t too worried (I have 2 injections a week and it was 4 days since the previous one, also the injections are meant to be kept cold, and while we were on holiday our power failed so the fridge got too warm). Apparently I am his “most stable patient”. I think he means health wise, rather than mentally! đŸ™‚

As alluded to, we spent 2 and a bit weeks in Japan visiting Chris and seeing the sights again. It had been over 10 years since Linda and I had been there, but we didn’t find too much changed. We revisited Nagasaki since we love it there, and saw a few new sites around Osaka, but it wasn’t an ambitious itinerary this time. The weather was pleasantly warm, and apart from catching a rather nasty cold, it was a very relaxing time, even though we walked our feet off! We spent a lot of time on trains, because they’re so great, and make it easy to get around.

I continue to volunteer at the railway, and am getting to know more people, and understand a bit more about how everything works. Most days, though, I’m busy laying blocks in our new ticket office/shop building, and gradually improving my technique at that, although last weekend that was interrupted in favour of car park duties for our Santa specials. Very cold!

My model railway in the loft is progressing quite well, helped by a nice man at the real railway who donated me a lot of useful track in much better condition than the old stuff that had spent so long up in our loft. Linda is enjoying helping and her creative talents have been exercised painting back scenes and designing landscape. It feels like a railway now, although the track design isn’t quite finalised.

A corner of the railway layout – landscaping to come

I had a pleasant birthday with lots of books and some more railway stuff, roast duck and some nice wine in the evening. And today is Fran’s birthday, so happy birthday Sis! x

On the driving front, I spent a long weekend in Shropshire with a big group of people, and then a weekend up in the Scottish Borders with just a few lads, all very enjoyable. On Tuesday I spent a day with the best of coaches, focussing on detail and polishing techniques, which was hard work and very satisfying.

And soon it will be Christmas. The lights are on in Wootton Bassett, and Mike and I enjoyed the market briefly, and then retired to the pub, while Linda and Wilson were still circulating. So have a happy holiday time with your loved ones, and see you in the New Year.

Leave a comment